top of page

Revision of Definitions and Guidelines for Discipline: Digital Town Halls

This church’s document Definitions and Guidelines for Discipline describes the grounds for which discipline may be imposed according to the practice of this church. Chapter 20 of the ELCA Constitution calls for this document, stating that “the Committee on Appeals shall establish definitions and guidelines, subject to approval by the Church Council, to enable clear and uniform application of the grounds for discipline of officers, rostered ministers, congregations, and members of congregations.” Its purpose is juridical: to assist in the processes of consultation, discipline and appeals. It does not set forth the high expectations this church has for all who participate in our life together.


It has been a number of years since Definitions and Guidelines was last substantively updated. The Committee on Appeals is conducting a review of this document with the intent to submit a revised version to the Church Council for approval in spring 2021. The committee is seeking input from across this church so the document can better provide clear and uniform application of the rules, protect people from harm and prevent impediments to the proclamation of the gospel.

As a member of this church, you are invited to participate in a series of digital town halls to offer feedback that the Committee on Appeals can use in revising Definitions and Guidelines. To register, please click on the link below. You will be asked to indicate your first and second choices of dates. Registration will be limited to 200 persons per event and will be on a first-come-first-served basis. You will receive an email to confirm registration and to give you instructions for logging in to a session.


Town Hall Dates/Times: Register today

  • Wednesday, June 3: 3 p.m. Eastern / 2 p.m. Central / 1 p.m. Mountain / 12 p.m. Pacific

  • Tuesday, June 9: 7 p.m. Eastern / 6 p.m. Central / 5 p.m. Mountain / 4 p.m. Pacific

  • Thursday, June 18: 3 p.m. Eastern / 2 p.m. Central / 1 p.m. Mountain / 12 p.m. Pacific

  • Thursday, June 25: 8 p.m. Eastern / 7 p.m. Central / 6 p.m. Mountain / 5 p.m. Pacific

We encourage you also to participate in a brief survey that will allow you to give written feedback on Definitions and Guidelines for Discipline. The survey will be available for feedback through June 15. Please note: Survey Monkey will be down for 8 hours on May 23, beginning at 9 a.m. Pacific time.

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Walk/Run/Bike Challenge: Bishop Mike

I have never been much of an athlete. I was part of a swim team for a few years. I always came in last. I played slow-pitch softball. I never got more than my mandatory three innings. As a catcher. Th

Walk/Run/Bike Challenge: Becca

As you start off on this Run, Walk, Bike Challenge, one of the first steps is to figure out your goal. Each of us have different goals which is why we didn’t give any suggested goals for this event. S

Comments


bottom of page